Rutgers logo
University Academic Affairs

The Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award Goes to Lily Y. Young 

December 7, 2023

Dear Colleagues, 

I am pleased to share that Dr. Lily Y. Young, Board of Governors Professor, has been named the 2023–24 recipient of the University’s Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award. A special award ceremony and lecture will be held on Thursday, February 15, 2024, from 5:30–7:30 p.m., in the New Jersey Institute for Food, Nutrition, and Health (IFNH) Building, Room 101, Cook Campus. For more information on registering for the ceremony and lecture, please click here

The Daniel Gorenstein Memorial Award was established in 1993 by the family, friends, and colleagues of Daniel Gorenstein to commemorate Professor Gorenstein’s innovative mathematical research, his skillful and enthusiastic exposition of his field, and his wise and devoted service to Rutgers University. The award was first presented in 1994 and is given each year to a Rutgers University faculty member noted for both outstanding scholarly achievement and exceptional service to the University. The roster of previous recipients is impressive and disciplinarily diverse. Dr. Young will be the 30th recipient of this award.

Dr. Young is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences (SEBS). Recognized as a pioneer in environmental microbiology, her research focuses on microbial transformation of organics, metals, and minerals in the environment. The impact of her contributions is documented in countless peer-reviewed publications and through her receipt of more than 50 grants over the last 25 years, totaling more than $20 million. Her scholarly work has been recognized by numerous honors and awards, and she has been elected as a Member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology. 

Professor Young has been a leader in the Rutgers community for decades. Within SEBS, she served as Chair of the Department of Environmental Sciences for seven years, Associate Dean for Graduate Studies for five years, and founding Dean of International Programs for six years. In this last role, she developed what continues to be a thriving and unique program that supports international students, international experiences for domestic students, and international research. She also served as Provost for Faculty Development and Excellence at Rutgers–New Brunswick from 2014 to 2018. Additionally, Dr. Young has served on numerous wide-ranging universitywide committees, such as the Promotion Review Committee, and co-chaired working groups for Middle States Reaccreditation. In support of the greater profession, she has served on editorial boards and as a frequent manuscript reviewer. Perhaps most notable is her extensive service to the National Science Foundation, on committees of the National Research Council, and through the world’s largest microbiology society, the American Society for Microbiology. She is recognized by her peers and colleagues as a dedicated mentor and leader who both strengthens and supports the community around her.

Dr. Young wonderfully captures the multiple ideals of this singular recognition named in honor of a scholar and intellectual who made deep and lasting contributions to Rutgers and the world.  

Please join President Holloway and me in congratulating Dr. Lily Y. Young.


Prabhas V. Moghe, Ph.D.

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

Distinguished Professor