Executive Council on Assessment

Mission Statement

The Executive Council on Assessment (ECA) is the oversight body for evaluating strategic planning processes and assessment practices University-wide. In this role, the ECA has overall responsibility for assessing the methods and implementation of the University’s strategic plans and planning processes. Currently this includes engagement with all four of the foundational elements stated in the University Strategic Plan (Transform the Student Experience, Build Faculty Excellence, Envision Tomorrow’s University, and Enhance our Public Prominence). In addition,

 The ECA oversees:

a.  the broader expanse of institutional assessment, including student progress and student success, such as retention, graduation rates, time to degree, and more general matters that affect the quality of life of the university community. (Student Experience, Faculty Excellence, Public Prominence)

b. the procedures for the evaluation of teaching across the University, using summative assessment for promotion and tenure, and formative assessment for the professional development of our faculty at every level as teachers, and is responsible for supporting and coordinating the teaching evaluation systems in the schools. (Student Experience, Faculty Excellence)

c. procedures for investigating and assessing the academic impact of technological and administrative initiatives (such as the new scheduling system, new student records system, course management systems, new administrative systems, new budgeting systems) and support services on the quality of education, student learning, and the student experience. (Student Experience, Tomorrow’s University)

d. the annual assessment reporting processes conducted by its sub-councils, the Assessment Council on Learning Outcomes and the Assessment Council on the Student Experience. (Student Experience, Faculty Excellence)

e. procedures for the assessment of academic governance and leadership, including the University Senate’s processes for the evaluation of deans and chancellors. (Transform the Student Experience, Build Faculty Excellence, Envision Tomorrow’s University, Enhance our Public Prominence)

2. The ECA participates in the reaccreditation process through the University’s membership in the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and monitors the activities of the many schools and programs within the University that are accredited by professional associations. (Student Experience, Faculty Excellence, Public Prominence, Tomorrow’s University)


Committee Members 

Gary Gigliotti, Chair
Center for Teaching Advancement & Assessment Research

Michael Barnett
Rutgers Business School–Newark

Barbara Bender
Graduate School–New Brunswick

Jeanne Boyle
Rutgers University Libraries

William Fitzgerald
Faculty of Arts & Sciences–Camden

Carol Goldin
Ernest Mario School of Pharmacy, Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences

John Gunkel
Faculty of Arts & Sciences–Newark

Robert Heffernan
Institutional Research & Academic Planning

Susan Lawrence
School of Arts & Sciences–New Brunswick

Roberta Leslie
Academic Affairs

Richard Ludescher
School of Environmental & Biological Sciences

Claire McInerney
School of Communication & Information

Angela O’Donnell
Graduate School of Education

Brent Ruben
Center for Organizational Development & Leadership

Joseph Schiavo
Faculty of Arts & Sciences–Camden

Mark Schuster
Student Affairs–New Brunswick

Gretchen Van Der Walle
Faculty of Arts & Sciences–Newark