Rutgers logo
University Academic Affairs

National Academy of Sciences Elects Three From Rutgers

Thomas Banks, Helen Berman, and Monica Driscoll

Thomas Banks, Helen Berman and Monica Driscoll are recognized for their distinguished, original research

May 17, 2023

Three Rutgers faculty members – whose pioneering work includes developing an alternate theory of the evolution of the universe, creating one of the world’s first open-access libraries of proteins and investigating the mysteries of the biology of healthy aging – have been elected as members of the National Academy of Sciences.

The trio from Rutgers-New Brunswick’s School of Arts and Sciences – Thomas Banks, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy; Helen Berman, the Board of Governors Distinguished Professor Emerita in the Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology; and Monica Driscoll, a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry – were among 120 new members and 23 international members elected May 2 to the scientific society.

Read More