Tang Prize

To encourage individuals across the globe to chart the middle path to achieving sustainable development by recognizing and supporting contributors for their revolutionary efforts in the four major fields of Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law.

The University has been invited to submit nominations for consideration for the Tang Prize in the following two prize categories:

Sustainable Development which recognizes those who have made extraordinary contributions to sustainable development of human societies, especially through groundbreaking innovations in science and technology. The University may submit one nomination consisting of up to three candidates to share this award. 

Sinology which recognizes the study of Sinology in its broadest sense, awarding research on China and its related fields, such as Chinese thought, history, philology, linguistics, archaeology, philosophy, religion, traditional canons, literature, and art (excluding literary and art works). The University may submit only one nomination for this award.  

Each prize provides a cash award of approximately $1.3 million. In addition, research projects proposed by the laureates receive a grant of up to approximately $320,000. For more information regarding nominations, eligibility, and the selection process, please visit award eligibility details.


  • To make a nomination, submit a brief summary of the candidate’s qualifications for the particular nomination category, a detailed explanation of the candidate’s outstanding works, accomplishments, and contributions, and a curriculum vitae, to Dr. Angela Mullis.
  • Website: Tang Prize
  • The Tang Prize Foundation has asked that we treat our nominations as highly confidential, and retrain from making known our nominations to anyone, including our nominees. 
  • Call for Proposals/Nominations: April
  • Internal Deadline for Submissions: September 6


Angela Mullis
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs